Wh-Wh began rehearsals in 1984 following the dissolution of two of Knoxville's favorite bands, Balboa and Five Twins.  Wh-Wh featured Terry Hill on guitar, Larry Mullins on drums, Ron Funnell on bass, and Brian Waldschlager on vocals.  The quartet was a mainstay of Knoxville rock’s Vic–n-Bills era until 1987.

In 1985 Wh-Wh released a nine song LP.  The songs are all Wh-Wh compositions with the exception of “Black Romance” by Jim Carroll (unavailable below due to copyright issues)

When Wh-Wh ended, each member continued on in new musical forays. Waldschlager moved to Minneapolis for a brief time before returning to Knoxville where he fronted the bands Boogie Disease and Dirtclods. He now lives in Nashville and plays in several configurations.

Larry Mullins remains a globetrotter who spent a decade racking up mileage touring with Iggy Pop and working with The Residents. He currently makes Berlin his home and is also known as Toby Dammit.

Ron Funnell pursued a law degree after playing in Plynth.  It is rumored that he currently lives in Paris, France.

Terry Hill taught, collaborated, produced, and inspired countless figures on the Knoxville scene while growing his own prog/avante/pop repertoire throughout the ‘90s with The Semi-Conductors, Plynth, and Internal Herd.


Articles and Reviews.  Click on image to read



Wh-Wh's album is free to download.  To listen, just click on the song title.  To save, for PC users, right click on the song title and use the "save target as" option to get the files.  For Mac users, control click and "save or download link as".  Click on thumbnail for larger image.


 1.  Anonymity
 2.  Church
 3.  Choose Your Weapon
 4.  Black Romance - not available
 5.  Mean Song
 6.  Away from You
 7.  I'm So Happy
 8.  Ann
 9.  Fear and Friction

recorded at Southern Sounds Studio, Knoxville, TN.  Danny Brown, engineer.  Mastered by Carl Snow.


Band Flyers.  Click on Image